Just Keep Lunging!

Until we get to the bottom of what is causing Missy back problems I am just lunging her to keep her fit.

IMG_0592

It is not the most inspiring thing to do with her even though I have been trying to mix it up with what we’re working on. For example sometimes it’s been getting her responsive to my voice and improving her balance so we’ve been doing a lot of transitional changes; walk of three steps, trot for eight, forward to walk again for 5 steps, trot for 5 steps.

Missy does have a habit of falling out through her inside shoulder, so we’ve been working on trying to correct that and push her out onto the circle.

To also help vary the work we have been doing on the lunge, I have also of been varying what aids I have been using. I lunge Missy in her Micklem Multi-bridle as it doubles up as a lunge cavesson with the D ring incorporated into the nose-band. She responses well in this and it give me peace of mind as it avoid pressure points on Missy’s head.

Sometimes I just lunge her “nakey” so therefore only using my lunge whip, lunge line and her bridle. This is always a good test for us! There are definitely high points of Missy working long and low and low points where shes falling in all over the place so we struggle to achieve contact and therefore an inside bend.

My favourite lunging aid I like to use is the Kavalkade HO Lunging Aid, as Missy topline isn’t the strongest this aid helps encourage her to work through her back. I always try my best to keep things simple with Missy and work with her, this way we get the best results.

IMG_0591

I do have a Pessoa and used it a few times, however it’s gathering dust due to the fact it’s such a faff to put on and also I just feel it’s all a bit excessive with the pullies and clips. The only reason I use it would for it do to the same thing as the Kavalkade, however the Kavalkade is a lot simpler.

And as for side reins…I don’t even own a set!

Anyways next week the physio is coming out for Missy, so fingers crossed we will start making some progress towards being back in the saddle.


Leave a comment